Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-20-2011

dhcp issues

Hi,

 

I've created initial VLAN and 1 ssid (Corp). Then I've created a dhcp scope for that VLAN.

 

Basically my wireless clients are still getting a dhcp address from our domain controller and not the allocated range on the Aruba wlc

 

What am I missing ?

 

Many thanks

 

 

Aruba
Posts: 1,287
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: dhcp issues

did you do also on the controller,

 

service dhcp

 

 


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-20-2011

Re: dhcp issues

thanks, but still no joy

 

Any ideas

Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: dhcp issues

[ Edited ]

If there are multiple DHCP servers for a network available (in your case the controller and Windows), the first one to respond is where clients will get an IP address from. 

 

First confirm DHCP is setup properly on the controller:

 

show ip dhcp database

show ip dhcp statistics

show ip interface brief (the controller needs an IP on the VLAN)

 

Second, if you cannot turn off the scope no the Windows server, you can configure a DHCP helper for the VLAN in question to try and direct the request to where you want.

 

interface vlan XX

ip helper-address x.x.x.x (IP of controller)

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-20-2011

Re: dhcp issues

Thanks but still picking up from the domain controller

 

 

see attached

 

many thanks

 

 

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,010
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: dhcp issues

Type "show user-table verbose" and see what VLAN# the user is ending up in.  It would be in parentheses in the last column.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-20-2011

Re: dhcp issues

it's ending up in VLAN 1 which is correct

 

thanks

 

Aruba
Posts: 1,287
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: dhcp issues

The mask in your vlan 1 doesn't match the mask in your scope.

If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-20-2011

Re: dhcp issues

Ah yes thanks

 

So we can't issue a separate DHCP pool on the default vlan ?

 

 

Aruba
Posts: 1,287
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: dhcp issues

The network on the scope needs to match that of your vlan interface, otherwise it won't respond.

 

If you want to keep using the Windows server for other devices, you should put exclusions in place on both to ensure there is no overlap and ip conflicts.


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: