Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎12-26-2014

how to get the access points from different VLANs to be on the controller automatically?

I have my controller on VLAN 100 ,when I add the access points on the smae vlan it shwoed up on the controller but when I connect access points in another vlan they didn't show up on the controller and note that the vlans are routeable to each other

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,643
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: how to get the access points from different VLANs to be on the controller automatically?

DNS lookup for aruba-master or DHCP option 43/60


Thanks, 
Tim

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor I
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎12-26-2014

Re: how to get the access points from different VLANs to be on the controller automatically?

Great thank you so much but only one question what is purpose of DHCP Option 60?

Valued Contributor II
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎12-01-2014

Re: how to get the access points from different VLANs to be on the controller automatically?

Hi Friend,

 

Couple of questions,

1. Are you able to ping the AP from controller ?

2. What is the master discovery method you are using ?

 

If you are able to ping the AP check for PAPI traffic between the controller and the AP ( show datapath session)

 

Please feel free to come back on this .

 

Cheers,
Venu Puduchery,
[Is my post helped you ? Give Kudos :) ]
Valued Contributor II
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎12-01-2014

Re: how to get the access points from different VLANs to be on the controller automatically?

Hi,

 

Option 60 is used by the AP to send it's name as "ArubaAP". we will register this (ArubaAP) in the DHCP pool with option 60 so that, DHCP will share the master IP over option 43.

Cheers,
Venu Puduchery,
[Is my post helped you ? Give Kudos :) ]
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,643
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: how to get the access points from different VLANs to be on the controller automatically?

Option 60 should read ArubaAP. It is required by some radius servers. 


Thanks, 
Tim

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: