Wireless Access

Reply
MVP
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

site-suvey AP (old method) keeps rebooting without LAN

[ Edited ]

SO I've conigured a few campus APs to use as site survey AP's.

 

Since these AP's where not Instant AP's I did this the old way by configuring them as always up remote APs.

 

Configured an open SSID: survey.

wlan ssid-profile "survey"
   essid "survey"
!

The virutal-ap profile I changed to be bridge mode and have rap-always -up support:

wlan virtual-ap "survey"
   aaa-profile "survey"
   ssid-profile "survey"
   vlan 1
   forward-mode bridge
   rap-operation always
!

Next the AP was configured as remote AP (username+passwd) with fixed ip address and allowed to reboot.

 

Now, in the field.

If we supply it with POE+ethernet it works fine

If we supply only POE it keeps rebooting because it can't setup the ipsec tunnel:

 

 

AP rebooted Wed Dec 31 16:09:07 PST 1969; Unable to set up IPSec tunnel after 85 tries

So, do I HAVE to provide an ethernet interface or is there a way around this?

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,961
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: site-suvey AP (old method) keeps rebooting without LAN

You need to provision it with a static ip address..



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: site-suvey AP (old method) keeps rebooting without LAN

[ Edited ]

They have been configured with fixed ip addresses.

 

When connected to a switch (that is not connected to anything but the survey AP), everything works fine.

 

Only when we only use the POE injector as the survey guys require (they understandably dont want to haul and power an additional switch) the AP comes up, is pingable, but reboots again and again after a few minutes.

 

Thinking about making a rj45 loopback plug to plug in to the dataport of said POE injector, but offcourse missing the **bleep** crimping tool here. :/

RJ45 loopback plug in dataport of poe injector doesn't help either.

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎03-26-2013

Re: site-suvey AP (old method) keeps rebooting without LAN

Hi Koen,

 

Once the RAP is up on the controller, could you try changing number of IPSEC retries in the AP system profile to 0 & then test it in site survey mode.

 

 

MVP
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: site-suvey AP (old method) keeps rebooting without LAN

Problem solved... you rock!

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: