Wired Intelligent Edge

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

Setting Access Port for Procurve 2910

This thread has been viewed 7 times
  • 1.  Setting Access Port for Procurve 2910

Posted Apr 06, 2020 04:08 PM

Hello. I am very new to HP switching. I come from Cisco so naturally im a little lost here. We had just replaced a Cisco switch with a procurve 2910. I got it trunked to another Cisco and that seems to be working fine. My problem is I have a computer directly connected to this 2910 (port 3) and I cannot get it to come back online. In the cisco it was configured as an access port and im having the typical confusion with no untagged/yes tag/tag/untag/ stuff. I tried to apply a access port configuration as best I could but I am doing something wrong...

Here is the previous config before we swapped hardware, it was cisco to cisco:

interface FastEthernet0/16
    description GFI Computer
    switchport access vlan 7
    switchport mode access

interface GigabitEthernet0/1
    description TRUNK-TO-CISCO
    switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
    switchport trunk native vlan 2
    switchport mode trunk

After hardware swap, hp to cisco:

vlan 7
    name "Public"
    untagged 3
    tagged Trk2
    no ip address
    exit

24 | Cisco-Trunk 1000SX | Trk2 LACP

#ALE

• 2.  RE: Setting Access Port for Procurve 2910

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 06, 2020 04:47 PM

Hi

For an access the port a simple configuration would be similar to this:

interface 3
    name "PC"
    untagged vlan 7

enable
    exit

If you already configured the port like this, run an "show interface 3" and post it here.

• 3.  RE: Setting Access Port for Procurve 2910