Network Management

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

N

This thread has been viewed 27 times
  • 1.  N

Posted Nov 23, 2020 10:44 AM
    Hi

My name is Rob and this is my first time posting here. I'd like to say hi to everyone, and if this is not the place I should be posting this type of questions, please feel free to move it somewhere else. 

I have an Aruba 2530 24 port switch I need to configure. So far I managed to get around the syntax and I configured VLANs etc, although I came across some issues I hope somebody can help me resolve. 

Currently, I have 3 VLANs configured on my switch as shown on the screenshot below:

Tagged port 21 is connected to another switch in the same room, tagged port 22 is not going to be used. Trk1 group has 2 ports (23, 24) which are supposed to be connected to another switch in another building.

I'm mainly concerned about the two switches in the same room at the moment. Those have the same exact configuration in terms of VLANs and ports- one should only be an extension of the other because devices connected to the VLANs I showed are going to be in different cabinets (each will have one of the Aruba switches fitted).

The problem starts pretty much as soon as I power one of them up. I'm trying to ping a device that is on the same vlan as the device I'm sending the ping from, and I get a 'request timed out' message every time I try to do so. Not sure what is causing it. I'm suspecting it might have something to do with the route entries:

I did not directly edit the above route entries, therefore they must've been there from the get go, or got updated as I was creating new VLANs.