Wired Intelligent Edge

last person joined: yesterday 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

IPv6 ND Router Advertisements leaking between VLANS

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  IPv6 ND Router Advertisements leaking between VLANS

Posted Apr 20, 2020 02:52 AM

Hi All

I'm new to configuring IPv6 on HPE/Aruba switches and need some help. We have a HPE 5412zl which we're trying to configure. It appears that router advertisements are leaking between VLANs.

For example, this is our (sanitised) config on our 5412zl:

ip routing
    ipv6 route ::/0 xxx:xxx:402:314::1

ipv6 unicast-routing

vlan 51
    name "ICT Network"
    tagged A8,B5-B8,C7-C8,D15-D20
    ip address 10.51.254.254 255.255.0.0
    ipv6 enable
    ipv6 address xxx:xxx:402:51::1/64

ipv6 nd ra prefix xxx:xxx:402:51::/64
    dhcp-server
    exit

vlan 100
    name "MDL Wired"
    untagged B5-B7,C7-C8,D15-D20
    ip address 10.100.254.254 255.255.0.0
    ipv6 address xxx:xxx:402:100::1/64

ipv6 na ra prefix xxx:xxx:402:100::/64
    dhcp-server
    exit

Routing etc works and this device can reach upstream through its gateway.

Now, I have a PC running Windows 10 which is connected to VLAN100 (access port downstream). However, it is getting IPv6 addresses from BOTH vlan100 and vlan51:

san_config.png

I can't figure out why. It appears the RA's are spanning the vlans.

The IP 10.100.x.x is assigned by the DHCP server on the 5412zl and it can ping the gateway, access internet, etc... so I know the machine is in the right VLAN.

Does anyone have any ideas?

• 2.  RE: IPv6 ND Router Advertisements leaking between VLANS
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 20, 2020 04:31 AM