Network Management

View Only
last person joined: 19 hours ago 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

802.1x UAM authentication

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  802.1x UAM authentication

Posted Jul 17, 2017 05:58 AM

Hi,

I am new to HP IMC.

I have configured IMC and added UAM to it.

I want to create 802.1x on IMC-UAM with a Cisco switch. I have configured aaa on the switch and everything seems perfect, also I have integrated my Domain controller with IMC and install the certificate. Users can login properly when adding their credentials but they are not set in the appropriate VLAN. At the site we have one Domain controller  with several Organization Unit (OU) , example: OU="Sales" and OU="IT", what I want is that when user for Sales OU tries to authenticate I want him to get IP from VLAN 20, and when the user is in IT out I want him to be assigned IP from VLAN 30.

I saw Deploy VLAN in User>User Access Policy >Access Policy >Modify Access Policy but it didn't work.

Awaiting your kind reply

• 2.  RE: 802.1x UAM authentication

Posted Jul 17, 2017 01:14 PM

The UAM module in IMC has a lot of flexibility and also complexity. The documentation is a bit hard to follow, but there are some example files as well.

I'm running HP procurve switches - so not as familiar with cisco but should work similarly. To make your scenario work you need to first define an access service for each group, Users and IT.

For each access service you need an access policy to match (there are situations where you would combine multiple access polices on 1 access service). Each policy will deploy the target VLAN, one for 20, one for 30.