Wireless Access

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba 7030 stuck after boot when trying to upgrade OS

This thread has been viewed 16 times
  • 1.  Aruba 7030 stuck after boot when trying to upgrade OS

Posted Aug 21, 2020 05:04 AM

Hello.

I'm using Aruba 7030 controller in my network. I have some experience with this device because I already used one- the same model in different network but I didn't encounter such a problem. The controller when I bought it had OS 6.4 so I decided to upgrade it to version 8.6.0.4 (build 74969). Before that I did some basic configuration so it would have ip address from 192.168.5.x network. After reboot when OS upgrade completed STATUS light is red, the controller says "DHCP wait". I discovered that it has 172.16.0.1 ip address but I can't connect to it- every connection gets rejected. I also can't use MENU and ENTER keys on controller so I can't factory reset. Any help? 

• 2.  RE: Aruba 7030 stuck after boot when trying to upgrade OS

MVP EXPERT
    Posted Aug 21, 2020 05:26 AM

When you upgrade from AOS6 to AOS8 it will perform a factory reset, thus erasing all configuration. You will need to configure the controller again.

Do you have a console attached to gain access?

• 3.  RE: Aruba 7030 stuck after boot when trying to upgrade OS

Posted Aug 21, 2020 05:43 AM

Yeah, I thought it will factory reset because I did that some time ago on another controller. But this one gets 172.16.0.1 ip address, not 172.16.0.254 and refuses every connection to it. About console- when I try to use PuTTy and SSH it says "Connection refused" (connecting through ethernet cable). Should I try USB connection? Can't find any drivers to be honest.

• 4.  RE: Aruba 7030 stuck after boot when trying to upgrade OS
    Best Answer

MVP EXPERT
    Posted Aug 21, 2020 06:12 AM