Wireless Access

View Only
last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Bonjour Not Discovering Printers

This thread has been viewed 33 times
  • 1.  Bonjour Not Discovering Printers

Posted Feb 16, 2024 10:10 AM

Hello All,

This is my first time posting to the thread or any for that matter so apologies for any details I leave out.  Anything additional info you all recommend I share to help please let me know.  

A brief overview of our setup: Using CPPM, Aruba 615 APs, Aruba MM-1K, and Aruba 7220 controllers.  Airgroup is enabled since we are using different VLANs for different types of users. 

We are experiencing an issue where Bonjour is not populating printers on user's Apple devices (MacBook, iPhone, and iPads).  Newly connected devices start out working as intended, and Bonjour populates available printers based on which AP they are connected to.,  After a few days, users start to report the printer shows offline and the only way to reconnect is to do it via IP.   This issue wasn't present a month or so ago and to my knowledge, no config or software updates have taken place in Clearpass or the Aruba controllers.

I have cleared the user's device from Clearpass, verified role assignments, placed user devices in the same VLAN as the printers, and factory reset printers.  My daily driver is a MacBook Pro M1 and I was once able to see all printers, but now nothing.  I logged in and connected wirelessly on an older MacBook Pro, that had been offline for a while, and can see the printers but still not on my daily driver.   The two laptops I am using are in the same VLAN, same SSID, and use the same authentication.

On the controllers, I can verify printers that should be showing up are showing when I use "show airgroup servers".  I have verified both of my laptops show under "show aigroup users".