Internet of Things (IoT) and Industrial IoT (IIoT)

View Only
last person joined: 13 days ago 

Forum to discuss the HPE Aruba Networking Edge Service Platform and all associated products and solutions for any type of IoT or IIoT application. Included are IoT technology partners (eg. EnOcean, Microsoft, and Zebra) and IIOT technology partners (eg. ABB and Siemens)
Expand all | Collapse all

Connecting to a BLE peripheral from Aruba 560/570 Series AP

This thread has been viewed 11 times
  • 1.  Connecting to a BLE peripheral from Aruba 560/570 Series AP

Posted Mar 08, 2024 09:28 AM

Hi there, I'm very new to the Aruba product line and their technology stack, and have what is probably a naive question:

We have a partner with a large deployment of Aruba 560/570 Series AP's, which they currently use for WiFi connectivity.  However, we'd like to see if it's possible for them to support wearable BLE devices as well.

The BLE devices act as a BLE peripheral and expose a custom BLE service, with a read and write characteristic.  We need the capability to connect to the BLE device from the Aruba 560, and read and write to the characteristics when a device is in range.

From what I understand from reading the datasheet and some documentation I found, the 570 series hardware does support BLE, and it appears it may be possible to pass advertisement data to the backend network.  However, I cannot find any documentation regarding if connecting to BLE peripheral devices and reading or writing to custom BLE characteristics is possible.

Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction?  Thanks in advance!

• 2.  RE: Connecting to a BLE peripheral from Aruba 560/570 Series AP

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 11, 2024 08:07 AM

That should be possible with BLE Connect. There is a reference in the IoT Utilities documentation which may help you get started.

------------------------------
    Herman Robers
    ------------------------