Wired Intelligent Edge

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

Help!! moving from old procurve switch to new aruba 6300 arubaos-cx

This thread has been viewed 22 times
  • 1.  Help!! moving from old procurve switch to new aruba 6300 arubaos-cx

Posted May 25, 2023 09:51 AM

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the ArubaOS-CX environment.  Can someone please help and explain something for me?  On my old procurve we have some ports that are untagged and some that are tagged.  On the new arubaos-cx switch I now I can configure ports to an Access port (which I understand is similar to untagged in Procurve but only 1 vlan) and also can configure a trunk port to carry multiple VLANs  (which I understand are the tagged ports).  My confusion is how do I untag and tag a port on the new ArubaOS-CX?  Is there a hybrid setting that can do this?  Or do I need to change the native vlan on a trunk port.  I'm so confused. Someone please help me understand this.  Thank you in advance. 

• 2.  RE: Help!! moving from old procurve switch to new aruba 6300 arubaos-cx

Posted May 25, 2023 10:08 AM

They should be very similar, with the concepts being the same. An untagged VLAN on a port is the same as an 'Access' port, and you can have only one assigned to a port. Tagged VLANs make the port a 'Trunk' port. Are you working with the Web GUI, or the CLI (command line)?