Cloud Managed Networks

View Only
last person joined: 16 hours ago 

Forum to discuss all things related to HPE Aruba Networking Central and UXI Network Management, including deployment of managed networks, configuration, best practices, APIs, Cloud Guest, AIOps, Presence Analytics, and other included Applications
Expand all | Collapse all

Network Flow for Aruba 535 APs to Aruba Central and Internal Network

This thread has been viewed 15 times
  • 1.  Network Flow for Aruba 535 APs to Aruba Central and Internal Network

Posted 23 hours ago

Hey there,

I'm new to using Aruba and I'm currently tasked with working towards setting up some Aruba 535's at a semi-remote location for a client. They are utilizing Aruba Central and currently do not have Aruba Switches in place (That is the plan in the near future). 

Currently there is a Cisco Core Switch Stack and an Cisco Access switch. The egress is a Cisco ASA. Currently DHCP is on servers at the HQ, so routing/policies are in place already for devices at the remote location to retrieve DHCP from these servers at HQ. What I am trying to understand is how traffic flow works for these AP's, up until recently they utilized Cisco AP's that would tunnel back to a controller located at HQ. Does Aruba Central act as a controller? Or would I essentially make sure that the proper VLAN/IP settings are correct, having the Aruba APs on the proper VLAN, then the Aruba AP would grab it's IP via DHCP correlating with the VLAN, AP would connect to the internet and reach Aruba Central, Grab it's configuration? 

Just getting confused on how this traffic, DHCP, and configurations would be handled if there is no controller to tunnel back to?

Any light shed on this so I'm not so confu

• 2.  RE: Network Flow for Aruba 535 APs to Aruba Central and Internal Network

Posted 18 hours ago

Hi.

Just a quick to be answer to your questions.