Comware

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Expand all | Collapse all

Using Existing HP switch configuration to another (HP 1950)

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Using Existing HP switch configuration to another (HP 1950)

Posted Aug 27, 2016 04:53 AM

Hi There,

I have two identical HP switches (1950) and I would like to replicate the same setting on one to another as they are both going to be pretty much the same except for the accessing IPs. I can manually edit the IPs of the switch later once configs are copied.

I know that the switches can be stacked (aka IRF). Is it ideal I do stacking? and will a change on a single switch reflects another? In the meantime, I couldn't use the extended CLI as I'm unable to find its password.

Sorry, this is my first time with an L3 HP switch and I'm learning my way around. It will be great, if someone could link me to PDFs or manuals that I can refer.

• 2.  RE: Using Existing HP switch configuration to another (HP 1950)

MVP GURU
    Posted Aug 27, 2016 07:34 AM

If you go with IRF (Intelligent Resilient Framework) - which is IMHO a very good thing - replicating the same settings on the second unit isn't necessary since both units, once the IRF is deployed, will be part of the same IRF Stack (AFAIK it's better to start first with the IRF configuration and only then decide about other ports/services settings keeping in mind that then you mange a Switch Cluster an not single indipendent Switches).

For IRF you must reserve and use one (or more, better) 10GE or SFP+ links as IRF Physical Ports (binding it/them to the respective IRF Ports on both members).

With only two units you are forced to deploy a Daisy Chain Topology (Member 1 <==> Member 2).

If you can afford the usage of 10GE or SFP+ links (better use two physical ports on each IRF Ports for resiliency) go with IRF.

Start with (and keep) them updated (actually release Comware 7.10 R3113P05 is available).