Blogs

Meet the Insiders: Richard McIntosh

By PegahKamal posted Mar 20, 2018 12:00 PM

I caught up with Richard McIntosh to get his perspective on #ATM and technology innovation. Follow Richard on Twitter at @802Tophat and bookmark Richard’s blog to hear more about his adventures in networking.

RichardMcIntosh_Headshot.pngPK: When you’re not hanging out at ATM18, what’s your day job?

RM: I’m a network engineer at a nationwide nonprofit. I juggle everything from wireless to routing, switch, and voice. I’m always busy, and It’s lot of fun being in the nonprofit space.

At a nonprofit, I have more flexibility in what I’m doing. I don’t have to do just one job or the same thing every day. If I want to play with Wi-Fi today, I can do that. If there’s routing and switching that needs to happen, or if security issues come up, I can work on those.

PK: How did you get into networking?

RM I’ve always been passionate about networking—and a super nerd. When I went to college, I took some Cisco CCNA courses. That piqued my interest, and I’ve been doing it ever since.

PS: What motivates you to do what you do?

RM: I’m motivated to work for a nonprofit. Being here, I’m making a difference and changing lives. I’m able to speak with our constituents about how our organization changes their lives. There’s a lot of jobs where you can do volunteer work. But day-to-day, we’re saving lives, so that makes me very excited about working here.

The other motivation is our daughter who was born last year. Every time I look at her, I think, OK, I need to do the best I can, so she can have the best life.  

PK: What is the first thing you’ll do when you get to Vegas for ATM?

RM: Make the trek to In-N-Out. I live in southeast Georgia, and we can’t get In-N-Out here.

PK: What’s the coolest part about ATM?