Developer

last person joined: 9 days ago 

Expand all | Collapse all

Poll switch metrics via API

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  Poll switch metrics via API

Posted Oct 27, 2019 06:34 AM

Hi,

I am not a developer so I may say things the wrong way, but is it possible to get metrics via API from Aruba switches or do you have to use SNMP? If you would like to export data to Elasticsearch for example.

Regards

• 2.  RE: Poll switch metrics via API

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 27, 2019 09:06 AM

Hi Mrklister,

It depends on which platform you try to gather metrics.

If you switch is CX-Based, ans you want to get an "event-driven" approach, you can use websockets, or an NAE script which would push informations to your remote server each time a defined value change.

But if you prefer a periodic approach, meaning each xx seconds a value is pushed, you can do that also with an NAE agent installed in the switch, or you could also use a script on your server which polls API in background in a periodic way as well.

This last approach would be the one to use with AOS-Switch devices, as they don't support websockets.

This is currently our way to do Streaming Telemetry.

Does that make sense and help ?

• 3.  RE: Poll switch metrics via API

Posted Oct 27, 2019 03:57 PM

Hi,

Thanx! The last solution I think is best when it comes to 2930f switches. I'm just glad it's possible :). For a layman who reads the documentation over the API, it seems to cover more configuration than data polling. But I may have too little knowledge to understand what is what.

• 4.  RE: Poll switch metrics via API

MVP GURU
    Posted Oct 28, 2019 04:26 AM

What "metrics" do you need ?

Because if it is octet in / out from a port, you can use

GET.../port-statisticsN/ACommonElementListReturns All Ports statistics.

and you get :

"id":
            {
                "description": "The unique ID of the Port.", 
                "type": "string", 
                "maxLength": 9