What is the difference between Client association history, Inactive client and Client data retention
What is the difference between "Inactive client and VPN User Data", " Client Association and VPN Session History" and "Client Data Retention Interval", We can see these settings in the Historical Data Retention settings page under AMP setup --> General of Airwave WebUI.
Inactive Client and VPN User Data: This setting determines how long we keep the information on every client that has ever connected to the network. We don’t keep all the association history but we keep the first seen and last seen date for the client in addition to username, role etc. We can keep this information for little long (if needed), since the data stored for this is minimal compared to the client association history. The entries in the inactive client table (also called client_first_last) is based on the retention period and the last seen date of the client.
Based on the number of days we set for this option under AMP – Setup >> general page, we keep the data for that many number of days. This is applicable for all the below options.
Client Association and VPN Session History: This setting has a bearing on how much history we can show in the association history on the client historical table and how much data can be included in the user session data.
This option will show the AP’s the user is/was associated to, signal strength the user had per session, user name, roles etc for the “n” number of days set in the retention settings.
Client Data Retention Interval: This influences how much historical data we can see for each client in the graphs, for example the signal quality, usage graphs on the client detail/diagnostic page. Client Data Retention Interval is very different, compared to the first two. When AirWave first sees a user, it has to create RRD files to store that user's historical bandwidth, signal, goodput, health, etc. It uses the Client Data Retention Interval setting to determine how big the files should be. There is no way to shrink files that have already been created. When this setting is set too high, the client RRD files can easily take up many TBs of storage space. We can keep this setting to low as It will only affect the time-based graphs on user-specific pages. It doesn't impact the historical client data that is used for reports, it doesn't affect the storage of historical session details and data at the AP, folder or group level graphs.