Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Copy flash: running-config and how to paste password/key/secret crypts

This thread has been viewed 4 times
  • 1.  Copy flash: running-config and how to paste password/key/secret crypts

Posted Jun 03, 2014 03:51 PM

I'm new to the Aruba MAS and am looking to figure out whether there is an equivalent to the cisco-ish

"copy flash: <file> running-config" command which takes a flash file and essentially pastes it as though

it were typed at the CLI, with some sensible special behavior surrounding anything interactive.  Note for

those unfamiliar with Cisco, this command does NOT erase anything that is in the running-configuration.

That's my general question.  This is my more specific question:

It was my hope that I would be able to use such a thing to paste mgmt-user entries into the configuration,

since the CLI does not allow you to enter the crypt, nor even enter the password non-interactively.  I need

to be able to paste other employees' passwords into the switch config without seeing the cleartext

password.  The same question applies to various aaa secrets and keys.  Though you can paste these in

non-interactively, the password is set to the crypt, not to the original value.  Under most other cisco-like

systems one precedes the crypt with a number designating what kind of crypt is being entered (or cleartext).

This syntax seems not to be accepted on the MAS.

What do other Aruba users do to acheive equivalent functionality?

• 2.  RE: Copy flash: running-config and how to paste password/key/secret crypts

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jun 04, 2014 10:21 AM

have you tried preceding the show run with "encrypt disable"?

This will output the file without the hashes on these items