Wireless Access

last person joined: 9 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

6 to OS8 upgrade

This thread has been viewed 9 times
  • 1.  6 to OS8 upgrade

Posted Apr 26, 2020 02:56 PM

I am a newbie and I am planing on upgrading a 2 controllers from OS 6.x to 8.x on 72xx and some questions. The design is Master/local/ my question are as fellow.

1- if I would like to use clustering what are the specs if I go with VM or X86.

2- if chose to not to use clustering. where should I install the migration tool to perform migration/upgrade.

3 - Are they pros and cons for OS8 upgrade on 7200 controllers without clustering.

Thanks!

• 2.  RE: 6 to OS8 upgrade

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 26, 2020 03:32 PM

Please read the ArubaOS 8 Fundamentals guide, for many more answers to your questions:  https://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Controller-Based-WLANs/ArubaOS-8-Fundamentals-Guide/ta-p/428914

1.  You would need a VMM sized based on your total number of controllers and APs.  That chart would be in the Virtual Appliance Installation guide here under the section "ArubaOS VM requirements" section https://support.arubanetworks.com/Documentation/tabid/77/DMXModule/512/Default.aspx?EntryId=36988

2.  Specifics on the Migration Tool are in the "Migration to ArubaOS 8" chapter of the Fundamentals Guide

3.  The features you gain through clustering are detailed in the "Migration to ArubaOS 8" chapter of the Fundamentals guide.

• 3.  RE: 6 to OS8 upgrade

Posted Apr 26, 2020 07:30 PM

Thanks Joseph.  I read the PDFs files that you provided on the links. whoever, I was looking for the option to go with 8.x on a controllers without MM. As stated before, I have 2 x 7200 (Mater-Local) and would like to upgrade them to OS8 and keep the existing functions/features as they are. 

Any suggestions on how to go with is appreciate it.