Wireless Access

last person joined: 19 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

AP 105 Range & Clients

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  AP 105 Range & Clients

Posted Jun 05, 2014 09:13 AM

Hello,

I am fairly new to wireless technology and have been dropped in the deep end a little bit!

I have been asked to install some wireless access points for an upcoming seminar hosted in one of our buildings. I have been told by the organisers that there could be up to 120 devices connecting to the wireless.

The room the guests will be based in is not massive (School classroom size) so my question relates to how many devices one AP 105 can simultaenously handle? And what is the range for an AP 105?

Also, if i require more than one AP, how should i go about configuring them so they do not conflict with eachother?

Thanks in advance for any advise you could give.

• 2.  RE: AP 105 Range & Clients
    Best Answer

Posted Jun 05, 2014 09:37 AM

Hello Sam

IF you dont own any arubanetworks technology and you are looking for an affordable technology go with Aruba Instant Access points

If you got budged then i would advice you to get a controller based technology with Aruba.

About how you can calculate how many APs you need in a room  depending in number of devices and BW for EACH device

Go here.... it will give you an idea of what do you need.

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Unified-Wired-Wireless-Access/Tutorial-Calculating-Number-of-APs-for-High-Density-Scenarios/td-p/145177

Take in mind that you dont want to have like for example 100 devices in one 105 for example(and is not for the BW its more for the cpu and ram of the ap)

i think max for 105 would be 100 devices(thats my opinion) this is not taking in mind the BW needed for each device.