Wireless Access

last person joined: 2 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

AirWave cannot enable FIPS

This thread has been viewed 5 times
  • 1.  AirWave cannot enable FIPS

Posted May 21, 2019 11:06 AM

Just recently did a massive upgrade of our AirWave from 8.2.0 to 8.2.8.1. So I'm new to the updated CLI. I went into Security, and am trying to enable FIPS mode. But when I do, I get an error, with a listing of what appears to be all of my controllers and APs (output truncated):

The following ap items are set with ciphers that are not FIPS compliant:
    Table: ap ID: 2, PrivProtocol: des, AuthProtocol: md5 Name: **Controller_name**
    Table: ap ID: 33, PrivProtocol: des, AuthProtocol: md5 Name: **AP_name**
    The following default_credentials items are set with ciphers that are not FIPS compliant:
    Table: default_credentials ID: 67, PrivProtocol: , AuthProtocol: md5

Please fix the above devices before turning on FIPS mode.

We're running a master/local setup with two 7210s running ArubaOS 6.5.4.7-FIPS_64553.

FIPS mode is on on both of the controllers, and I cannot seem to locate any accounts or SNMPv3 users anywhere that do not use SHA/AES; so I'm not sure where AirWave is seeing these MD5/DES accounts, or how to proceed enabling FIPS mode on AirWave.

• 2.  RE: AirWave cannot enable FIPS

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 21, 2019 02:36 PM

In message you see it is listing three ap_ids, try naviage to those device manage page and change the settings.

Click on any device in Airwave, it will take you to Devices>Monitor page,

Replace xx with ap_id  below montior page ,we have manage page, change setting under communcation section.

sample URL

https://<airwave ip>/ap_monitoring?id=xx

Note: Once you enable FIPS, we can not revert.

• 3.  RE: AirWave cannot enable FIPS

Posted May 21, 2019 04:28 PM

Thank you,