Wireless Access

last person joined: 3 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba 270 / Datalogic Scanners

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  Aruba 270 / Datalogic Scanners

Posted Jan 11, 2019 06:22 AM

Morning All,

I hope someone can help or guide me a little.

I have up a Aruba 270 which is working ok , this is soley used for 6/7 handheld scanners (Datalogic Memor X3).

I am having a few issues with the range and the scanners dropping connection, it is in a factory environment but I am fairly new to this.

Firstly I am not sure which band to be using ? on the scanners I have these options (Memor X3, 802.11 a/b/g/n).

B Rates only

BG Rates Full

G Rates only

A Rates only

ABG Rates Full

BGA Rates Full

GN Rates Only

AN Rates only

ABGN Rates only

BGAN Rates Only

BGN Rates Only

What would be the best setting to use for these on both the AP and the scanners ? Sorry for being a little vauge but im quite lost on this.

I have attached a few screen shots from the Aruba Instant software.

If anyone could take them time to help I would be very grateful !!!

Thanks

B

• 2.  RE: Aruba 270 / Datalogic Scanners

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jan 11, 2019 11:33 AM

Very wide topic, I'll try to provide a few useful pieces of info on the subject. Most of this information is general in nature,  based on field experience, and does not benefit from input from any given manufacturer of such 802.11 clients. Details of model, firmware may vary - all appropriate disclaimers apply.

Looking at the data provided, a few items that stand out:

- 802.11d/h not enabled

- too many 5Ghz channels

- High number of neighboring APs

- VHT disabled in 5Ghz

- band steering - use balance-band only if coverage is very carefully calculated - recommend "prefer 5Ghz"

- AP power levels at default,