Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Master/Local Controller Licensing

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  Master/Local Controller Licensing

Posted May 14, 2019 03:45 PM

I have a Master/Local configuration but the licensing is not exactly the same on both. What issues might I expect? Can I use the licensing for both if I utilize Centralized licensing? Would it be best to simply have a dual master arrangement?

• 2.  RE: Master/Local Controller Licensing

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 14, 2019 03:51 PM

Just turn on centralized licensing and the licenses will be pooled between the two controllers.  Dual Master would not be simpler.

• 3.  RE: Master/Local Controller Licensing

Posted May 14, 2019 03:54 PM

Thanks Colin...any idea approx how long the sync takes? I turned on Central licensing at the master and waited about 30 minutes but the licenses from the local never appeared so I turned it off as I just wasn't sure what would happen.

• 4.  RE: Master/Local Controller Licensing

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 14, 2019 03:57 PM

It should be immediate.  What licenses does the local have on it?

• 5.  RE: Master/Local Controller Licensing

Posted May 14, 2019 04:00 PM

The master just has 12 AP's and the local has 15 AP's and 15 PEF

• 6.  RE: Master/Local Controller Licensing

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 14, 2019 04:03 PM

Does the master have PEF licenses?

• 7.  RE: Master/Local Controller Licensing

Posted May 14, 2019 04:23 PM

No it doesn't

• 8.  RE: Master/Local Controller Licensing

Posted May 14, 2019 04:26 PM

If that's an issue could I simply switch roles and then do Centralized licensing?

• 9.  RE: Master/Local Controller Licensing

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 14, 2019 04:32 PM

There is no benefit, then.  You will be limited to the number of PEF licenses you have.