Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

RAP Bridge mode wired/wireless local DHCP server

This thread has been viewed 5 times
  • 1.  RAP Bridge mode wired/wireless local DHCP server

Posted Aug 04, 2019 10:19 AM

Hello,

First of all I'm fairly new to Aruba technology so my apologies if this question has been asked before.

I am configuring 303H APs as RAPs and tunnel mode WLAN and wired profiles work fine.

However, I want to setup a bridge mode WLAN and wired ports for local access and was wondering what the configuration is for setting up local DHCP access on the RAP for clients connecting? 

If I understand correctly, the requirement is to configure a DHCP server VLAN id in the ap profile under "Remote AP" (Using 8.3.0.6) and in the wired/wlan profile and set the switch access mode vlan to the same. 

I had done this for a wired profile and the client does in fact recieve the DHCP address however there is no connectivity. 

• 2.  RE: RAP Bridge mode wired/wireless local DHCP server

Posted Aug 05, 2019 01:52 PM

So the client receives a dhcp adress in the locally bridged vlan?

Do you see the mac-adress learned in the mac-table on the switch the rap is attached?

What is the role of the wired session? any limitations on the role?

• 3.  RE: RAP Bridge mode wired/wireless local DHCP server

Posted Aug 05, 2019 02:18 PM

The uplink for the RAP is a cable modem so I cannot access that modem to check the mac table of the switch port. 

The role I have assigned the wired port is:-

user-role rap-local-role
    access-list session allowall
    access-list session srcnat

The vlan that I assigned for the dhcp pool is not configured. However I am confused on where this vlan actually resides (controller or RAP) since this is for a bridge mode.