Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

master/local/local question

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  master/local/local question

Posted Apr 08, 2015 11:21 AM

Apologies if this is a daft question, if I have a scenario of 1 x master and 2 x locals do the locals need to have identical config ??  IE if they are at 2 x different locations so have differing vlans, IP's, AP groups, RAP whitelists etc, ?? 

Scenario is 2 differing masters, changing to locals pointing to a master ??

• 2.  RE: master/local/local question
    Best Answer

Posted Apr 08, 2015 12:11 PM

All of your locations will have unique configurations like IP address, vlan, and hostname. However the wifi settings under the AP Group will be syncronized form the master to the locals.

Once you join the Local to a master, it will block you from making changes to shared settings under things like AP Groups.

_ELiasz

• 3.  RE: master/local/local question

Posted Apr 08, 2015 12:16 PM

Hi,

You need to ensure that all the controllers having the Image code, with the latest Image we have option of centralised Image management, if it is not enabled, you need to update the same code as the master in all the locals.

You need to configure VLAN, VLAN interfaces and IP address manually in all the controllers coz, L2 and L3 wired config will not be pushed from the master to the Locals.

Once the Master-Local relation is up, Master will push the WLAN ( AP-Group ) config, Policies and local DB will be pushed to all the Locals. hence you need not worry about WLAN config in the Locals.

Please feel free for any further clarity on this

• 4.  RE: master/local/local question

Posted Apr 08, 2015 12:24 PM

Venu, thanks, my concern is that I am swapping 2 masters to locals and will point them at a fresh pair of masters. Any gotchas ??